DIY Toys


brabbit2

Brabbit – done with colored sharpies by Eileen McGarvey 2013

brabbit

close-up of brabbit. sharpies on vinyl Eileen McGarvey, 2013

This is Brabbit. (He/She is a 5″ mini Qee: BuneeQ) Brabbit is my first attempt at DIY vinyl toy blanks. I used sharpies and just drew directly on the vinyl in the same style I doodle in. It was really fun to see my doodle style on something 3D!

5inch MiniQee DIY Bunee blank

5inch MiniQee DIY Bunee blank

My interest in toys in general, and certain artists like Gary Baseman, led me to explore the whole world of vinyl collectibles, especially the “blanks” that you draw or paint or collage on yourself.

Giant Robot Magazine

Giant Robot Magazine

Gary Baseman Vinyl

Gary Baseman Vinyl

I think I first saw something about them in Giant Robot. a magazine I used to read religiously until it folded. It had such a fresh perspective on creativity in lots of different areas that I am interested in, i.e. art, music, movies, books, toys, etc… AND it showed toys elevated into something beyond just little kids playthings. That being said, most of the vinyl I’ve seen is VERY forgettable and not at all appealing. There are about 10 artists who really take it to another level.

My next attempt will be Andrew Bell’s “The Giver”. I have some interesting ideas for how to interpret that idea and of course I love the stylized skull, tiny wings, pod-like shape AND the wild, long, slender and very moveable arms. Stay tuned…

giver_diy-front_original

Tags:

2 Responses to “DIY Toys”

  1. Eric Says:

    This is fun to read. And informational. Thanks! See you soon-ish. I get back into Portland next week. Maybe on the 12th – not sure yet.

    – Eric

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

